Stepdad's Thoughts

My thought and feelings.

College

How do you pay for college? My step daughter will graduate from high school in the spring which means college is next, I hope. Finding the funds is going to be a real challenge. There are multiple options, grants, scholarships, loans, etc… I didn’t finish college, paying my own way just didn’t work. I want to be able to provide her the opportunity to get a college education in hopes she will be able to find a career she enjoys and can support herself in.oldmain

I have told her she needs to apply for every scholarship offered in hope of getting some money for school. I have done this for two reason; one is to get her to show just how much she wants to go to college, two is because I don’t have all the money that is needed. I have figured out that I need a minimum of $100,000 for a four year program. Money I have yet to figure out where to get it from.

She is real smart and does good in school, A’s and B’s. If she would apply herself to work on getting scholarships I am sure she would get some. They would help tremendously with the costs. Once she gets into school we have mentioned getting a job on campus; this would allow her to make some cash and meet a lot of people.

I hope it all works out and we are able to put her through school, community college for the first two years would make it much easier also.

Just waiting.

October 27, 2009 - Posted by | Concerns, Kids, Parenting | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment